Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lets Talk Whole Hog

ColtsFan
ColtsFan Posts: 6,310
Hi EggHeads,
I've volunteered to help SWMBO's uncle do a whole hog for the 4th of July. It's been 20 years since he's done one and I've helped friends in the past so we aren't complete noobs. My focus is going to be on prepping the pig; removing as much membrane, sinew, glands, etc. that I can. I also plan to separate the ribs from the backbone and remove some skin from the hams to expose more meat. I'll be injecting the hams, loins, shoulders with apple juice and Oakridge Game Changer.
The cook will be skin side down, no flip for the duration. I'll stage foil under the pig so that I can wrap areas if needed. Anything I'm overlooking? Tips and advice welcome.
~ John - https://www.instagram.com/hoosier_egger
XL BGE, LG BGE, KJ Jr, PK Original, Ardore Pizza Oven, King Disc 
Bloomington, IN - Hoo Hoo Hoo Hoosiers!

Comments

• saluki2007
    saluki2007 Posts: 6,354
    Never done one so no help from me but here to learn.  Please post this epic cook if you can.  What are you cooking it on?
    Large and Small BGE
    Central, IL

• lkapigian
    lkapigian Posts: 10,706
    please post the event.....What Size? I use Badia Mojo foran injection , rub only the inside and stay away from sugar, plan way more time than you think, especially if not fresh.............what king of pit? Open ,closed ?

Visalia, Ca @lkapigian
  • ColtsFan
    @saluki2007 and @lkapigian it should be around 130lbs dressed. We'll be using a cooker similar to this

• FarmingPhD
    FarmingPhD Posts: 839