Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

A-maze-n pellet smoker

Good day all,

Anyone has experience with this product?

http://www.amazon.com/A-maze-n-Pellet-Smoker/dp/B007ROPJ1M/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

What did you use it for and what are your feedback on it? Also what was your setup? (with or without charcoal)

Thanks.

Cheers!

Comments

• Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929

I have a lot of experience with it for cold smoking cheese and mainly bacon. I got the pellet package. Works well, but the tip is to place it in the oven with the pellets for 20 minutes prior to lighting. Before doing this, it would go out a good bit. Now, I can get smoke for 12 hours if I want to. Good product.

Columbia, SC --- LBGE 2011 -- MINI BGE 2013
  • jeroldharter
    jeroldharter Posts: 556
    I have one. My friend has one. Great for cold smoking cheese, nuts, etc.
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    What Chubbs said.  I think Cen-tex has one too.  
    Works great. I used it for bacon, salmon and cheese.
  • dorfami
    dorfami Posts: 50
    Would this work for beef jerky?
  • The Cen-Tex Smoker
    The Cen-Tex Smoker Posts: 22,951
    edited July 2013
    I do have one and I don't season the pellets in the oven. I hit them with a torch and let them burn for 5 and blow it out. Goes 12-14 hours. It's a great product.
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Check out the A-maze-n web site. They often have deals on the smoker and pellets/dust. Watch for their sales, unless you are in a hurry..