Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Safe prep

Thanks for the add into this group.  While I am new to using the Egg, I am also new to cooking in general... sorta getting a better-late-than-never start.   I have a few rib cooks under my belt and I am learning temp control..(thanks to this forum for info on that).    I need tricks/tips about preparing meats safely and efficiently....easy ways to keep raw food particles from contaminating something else, etc.   Is there a go-to standard source of info for this topic?  I want to not only be clean and safe, but also simple and efficient.   

Comments

• HeavyG
    HeavyG Posts: 10,344
    I'd start with this page as it has info on a variety of things that will help out someone new to all this stuff. Lots of other good info on a lot of other relevant topics on the Amazing Ribs site - it's worth spending some time there.

“Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.” ― Philip K. Diçk

• cookingdude555
    cookingdude555 Posts: 3,188
    My one small tip for grilling is that I always take "raw" and "finish" spatulas and tongs out to cook with.  The raw tongs/spatulas load the meat on the grill, and are used until about halfway through the cook (where the surface of the meat is out of the danger zone).  Then I switch to the finish tongs/spatulas so that the food is not cross contaminated.  
  • shtgunal3
    shtgunal3 Posts: 5,646