Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Beef jerky

Hey Eggers,my wife wants me make jerky in the oven, but I told I could do it on the egg. So now I need some ideas, can you help? Starting with meats, thickness, temps and so forth. I am a rookie at this but would to like to try it. Sounds like a great project.

Comments

• jeffc5227
    jeffc5227 Posts: 131
    Bottom round is the meat I use slice to desired thickness.
  • etherdome
    etherdome Posts: 471
    I second  the motion for a dehydrator . I would choose oven over egg any day.  I one an excaliber dehydrator that works great. 
    Upstate SC
    Large BGE,  Blackstone, Weber genesis , Weber charcoal classic
  • buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    My recommendation is to invest in a dehydrator, as the BGE really isn't ideal for maintaining the kind of sustained low temperatures you want for drying out beef jerky.  Then if you want some smoke you can get it started on the BGE and transfer it once you think it's received enough.

Yep, this.  And I would even consider an Amaz'n smoker on the egg as a regular fire will get hotter than you want it.
    NOLA
  • Cornholio
    Cornholio Posts: 1,047
    edited January 2020