Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Questions about cooking tongue

I have some beef and lamb tongues I'm planning to cook in the near future and it's something I've never done before.  I see that a number of people have indicated on here that they've done this, but it doesn't appear that they've posted the results of their cooking on the forum.  I'm thinking about marinating and cooking the tongues using sous vide first, and then smoking on the BGE.  Any input or insights are greatly appreciated.
It's "Smokin Gal", not "Smoking Al".
Egging in the Atlanta GA region
Large BGE, CGS setup, Kick Ash Basket, Smokeware SS Cap,
Arteflame grill grate

http://barbecueaddict.com

Comments

• lkapigian
    lkapigian Posts: 10,708
    I grew up on Beef and Lamb Tongue. Posted a cook here years back, I have not SV'd one as I just got mine, but that would be the way to go. You can cut the skin off before but that can be a chore for some. I would Salt Only SV 160 for probably 10 hours, the skin should peel right off, then smoke . 

Last one I did , I smoked for about 5 hours 250 ish, you can slice and deep fry or do whatever you like with....not for the squeemish 
    Visalia, Ca @lkapigian
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    I don't know where my posts are, but I do beef tongues a few times a year. Never done lamb's. Have done pig. Not as good as beef. (All of them used to be really cheap, but the last beef I saw was priced around a cheap steak.)