Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Wood chunks for smoking - problem

Options
Yno
Yno Posts: 529
I have been using the Egg for almost three years and love it. However, I have not had good luck with adding chunks of wood for smoking, and I am hoping it is because of the chunks themselves. I bought a bag of hickory chunks from Home Depot and every time I have added a couple mixed in with the lump, I get tremendous clouds of billowing white smoke. Twice now I have opened the Egg and fished out the burning wood to dump in a bucket of water. Everything goes back to normal then.

Are these chunks too dry? I know soaking in water doesn't penetrate much into the wood. I have heard people say good things about Fruita Wood, and looking at their site, it even warns of "*DEPOT and *Mart Stores bagged woods" as being too dry. So I am thinking of ordering some chunks from them. Do the experts here think this will solve my problem?

I will thinking of cherry, as we have been using a cherry rub that we really like. what other types are popular?
XL BGE in San Jose, CA. Also a Pit Barrel Cooker, a Cal Flame P4 gasser, and lots of toys including the first ever Flame Boss 300 in the wild. And a new Flame Boss 500.

Comments

• Brisket_Fanatic
    Options