Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

The relentless naan thread ( long)

caliking
caliking Posts: 18,727
edited October 2016 in EggHead Forum
You may not find this thread interesting unless you REALLY like naan. This will kinda ramble on, but I hope some find it useful. 

I've been dreaming of mastering homemade naan for several years. Most recipes by Western cooks are basically a tweaked pizza dough, which is not what I'm after. I'm talking about the thin, crispy,  but slightly chewy naans made in India and Pakistan. Naans seem to get more and more  "bready" as you go further west along the Silk Road through Afghanistan, and onwards to Central Asia, and that's not what I'm looking for either.

There are many recipes and videos from Indian and Pakistani home cooks, but a lot of them are cooking the naans in a pan on the stove (tawa naan), or in the oven (with  or without using the broiler).   I haven't seen one yet that looked like the naan I'm after. Recipes that called for flipping the naan to cook the other side were immediately disqualified.