Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Reverse sear question

Hi, everyone.  This is my first post on the forum, as I've recently been approved.  I'm a newbie to the BGE, and I'm working with a still-relatively-new Large.  I've done a few cooks - pork shoulder, packer brisket, spatchcock chicken, and ribs - and everything's turned out great so far, thanks to all the good advice on this forum.

Tonight, I'd like to do steaks.  We have a couple dry-aged NY strips, and I'd like to reverse sear them.  There seem to be several different setups for this, but as I don't yet have a spider to set a grate below the fire ring (the method that seems to be favored for the high-temp finishing sear), I was thinking of doing it this way:

Plate setter, drip pan with liquid (suggestions welcome - I saw someone added wine and spices to the pan but did not necessarily derive any benefit from it), cast iron grate.  Egg at 275ish until steaks reach 120, then foil steaks, remove pan and plate setter, throw open vents, preheat cast iron grate, sear for 2 minutes, flip, same, foil.

Any thoughts on whether I'm heading in the right direction?  Thanks in advance.

[Northern] Virginia is for [meat] lovers.

Comments

• Also, here's a picture of the sliced flat of the packer brisket I did, just because.

• I just did steaks on Saturday and this was the exact way I did 'em except for the wet drip pan, I just foiled the plate setter; these should turn out great!
  • Thanks, @CigarSmokinEgger!  Much obliged.

• Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    edited May 2013
    Do you have two grids?