Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Problems smoking a small brisket

Oilpony
Oilpony Posts: 49
hello everyone,
This is my first time to post on here, I need some help. I have tried to smoke a brisket four or five times and I am not having much success. The first problem is the fire itself.  I cannot get the temp to stabilize from the minute I start the fire. Needless to say the brisket ends up very dry. I am going to give it another go tomorrow.

I have a 6.5 pound brisket, I also have a weber digital meat thermometer. 
From what I have been reading, with the smaller brisket it seems I am better off cooking at a dome temperature of 275-300 using a cooking time of about 1 to 1.5 hours per pound, roughly.  Once the internal temp of the meat hits 190, remove, wrap in foil and place in a cooler for a few hours(what determines this amount of time)?
Your advice on how to stabilize the fire temperature and anything else is greatly appreciated. 

Comments

• welcome aboard. You have a temp control problem, not necessarily a brisket problem (we'll get to that later). Can you tell us a little more about how you set up your egg, light your fire and get it ready to smoke a brisket?
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • Oilpony
    I fill the charcoal to the fire ring, light the fire stick and I open the vent and the wheel wide open. I then close the vent and wheel to a quarter open but then the struggle begins. 
    I cook indirect, of course, with a water pan.
  • td66snrf
    td66snrf Posts: 1,821