Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First Brisket

Austin_Aggie
Austin_Aggie Posts: 13
edited December 2012 in Beef
I've had my large egg for about 6 months, but this is my first attempt to really see what it can do. I've spent time getting used to higher temp cooks, but it's finally time to break out the low and slow. I know brisket has a pretty tough rep, but figured, what the heck why not go for it.

From the start I figure I have a couple strikes against me:
1) This is my first attempt
2) The only brisket that I could get my hands on for now is a 7lb select trimmed packer from HEB. I'm regretting not getting at least a 9 or 10lb.

That said, It's been fun figuring out which rub etc. I was going to begin experimenting with. I decided to go with one I found here: http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-920806.html

I cut @thirdeye's recipe for the dry rub in half - just enough for my cut.
I also decided to throw on a slather of yellow mustard and Worcestershire that he mentions here: http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/1996/03/brisket.html?m=1

I'm planning on using an inverted plate setter with drip pan and standard grid on top. The plan is to put in the brisket fat side down, leave it closed until I get an internal temp of ~190 and then check for tenderness. Going to shoot for a grid temp of 250 (using an iGrill remote thermometer), I figure it will take about 12 hours on the egg then will rest it for a couple of hours in a cooler before digging in.

Going get the grill going around 10pm and let it do it's thing overnight. Here's hoping.