Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Running out of lump during long cook- what should I have done?

Options
As you all know I am new to this. I am doing my second picnic roast which I started around 830 last night. Woke up 10 hours later, and the IT is 188 but the grill temp was dropping. Turns out I was completely out of the lump. Aside from loading more in to start last night, what should I have done to get this cook over the finish line? I ended up pulling the woo and roast out of the grill to load in more lump and relit. Then put everything back inside. Will it taste bitter because I didn’t let the VOCs burn off? Seems like the better option than leaving the meat in the cold while the new lump got established. Thanks. 

Comments

• BigreenGreg
    BigreenGreg Posts: 581
    Options
    We’ve all done cooks longer than that, make sure you have lump up to the top of the first ring. You know it’s not an air flow issue or your temps would have run high. 
    LBGE, 36" Blackstone, Anova Pro
    Charleston, SC
  • stlcharcoal
    stlcharcoal Posts: 4,687
    Options
    90% chance you didn't have enough lump in there........fill it all the way up to the top of the fire ring.  You can go at least 18 hrs at 250F.