Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Baby Back Ribs

Options
EggRx
EggRx Posts: 2

Hey y’all, I’m somewhat new to the Big Green Egg world. I’ve had an egg since 2013 but only recently have I gotten serious about cooking. My question is this: what is your favorite way to cook ribs? I’ve always cooked them in the oven for a couple of hours and then transported to the egg to finish them off for the last few minutes. The bone pulls right out, but I’m interested if anyone cooks them solely on the BGE and what temp you use, wrap (or not) in tin foil, indirect heat, etc. Thanks y’all, and I look forward to learning and sharing.

Comments

• dmchicago
    dmchicago Posts: 4,516
    Options

I do mine turbo style almost all the time.

350 indirect

no foil

100 +\- minutes for Baby Backs

120 +\- Spares.

Toothpick and bend test for the win.

These ribs are done.

Philly - Kansas City - Houston - Cincinnati - Dallas - Houston - Memphis - Austin - Chicago - Austin

Large BGE. OONI 16, TOTO Washlet S550e (Now with enhanced Motherly Hugs!)

"If I wanted my balls washed, I'd go to the golf course!"
    Dennis - Austin,TX
  • OhioEgger
    OhioEgger Posts: 903
    Options

Do a couple of searches here and you'll find 14,587 different opinions on the subject. Or any subject, really.

But yes, most of us do them entirely on the egg.

Cincinnati, Ohio. Large BGE since 2011. Still learning.
  • StillH2OEgger
    StillH2OEgger Posts: 3,748
    Options

Get some smoke on them and I'm sure you'll like your new way to do ribs.

Stillwater, MN
  • SoCal_Griller
    SoCal_Griller Posts: 516