Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Whole Chicken Direct?

Options
I'm still a newbie with my BGE. 

I'm looking to cook a whole chicken for my third BGE dinner, but all the recipes I find are for indirect cooking. I don't have the ConvEGGtor/plate setter yet (on a budget) so I'm not sure how to cook indirect. 

If I have the chicken in a pan on the grill, would it turn out ok? Would the temperature and time have to be different? 

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    I think if I was in your shoes I would fill about half the firebox up with lump, get a 350ish fire going and cook the bird spatched at OEM level.   By loading a small amount of lump you are increasing the distance between the fire and protein. Basically doin what a lot of people do by raising the grid with bricks, beer cans or Woo type products.  You will be fine.  

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • rvita
    Options
    Thanks, I'll try that!
  • PASmoke
    PASmoke Posts: 279
    Options
    @Mattman3969 is exactly right. If you don't have a plate setter that is your best bet! Good luck....,
    Atlanta, GA - Large BGE x 2

• Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    edited September 2016
    Options