Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Getting ready for my first cook

I am new to smoking but am a firm beliver if you are going to do something, do it right! So, I bought a large BGE. I have everything put together and am preparing to cook on it this weekend. My question is, what is the best meat to cook for my first cook ever on my new BGE?
Large BGE and new to the egghead world! 
Orlando FL.

Comments

• id start off with something simple. try burgers or chicken and try to keep it at a certain temp to get your feel on temp control on the egg.
    Nashville, Tennessee
  • DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Agree on the pork butt, great way to learn to control the temp of the egg and results will be great.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • PORK BUTT thats what I broke in my LBGE with and since that is hands down my favorite think to cook on my Egg and as Hapster says very forgiving just try to keep temp and get a feel for your egg ,fasten you seat belt and enjoy the ride keep looking forward never look back ,and welcom to the world of Eggheads 
    2 Large Eggs and a Mini 2 Pit Bulls and a Pork shoulder or butt nearby and 100% SICILIAN
    Long Island N.Y.