Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Icing the breasts

I plan to spatchcock, raised direct at 350-400 dome temp, a 13lb turkey that has been injected. I see that some people ice the breasts. I have never done that before (which, of course, doesn't mean anything). How do you do it? How does that play into the whole bringing the meat to room temperature before putting on grill thing?
Born and raised in NOLA. Now live in East TN.

Comments

• The theory of icing the breast is to cool it down so the white and dark meat will reach final cooked temp at the same time, I have done once with ok results. If you are planning to spatchcock the bird I do not see any point in icing the breast.
    Large, small and mini now Egging in Rowlett Tx
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    You don't need to ice spatchturk, but you do need to orient the bird so the dark meat is closer to the back of the egg where it's hotter.  The dark meat needs to cook to 180 and the breast to 160.
    Put ice into ziplock bag (1 gal).  Place bag over turkey breasts (or put turkey breast side down on bag of ice).  Wait 30-60 minutes.  Remove ice and cook bird.
    LBGE - St. Louis, MO; MM & LBGE - around 8100' somewhere in the CO Front Range
  • Nolaegghead.... can you explain about orientating the bird for dark meat cooking?
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102