Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lobster Rolls - help please

NDG
NDG Posts: 2,431
Decided to make Lobster Rolls on the 4th as my parents, sister & husband and his family will be over to visit. Now the problem . . I’ve never done this before & I live in Ohio. I guess my biggest question is . . frozen meat or boil live lobster?  I found an old cooks illustrated mag that has a technique for doing live lobster for lobster rolls (freeze live for a bit, then boil in salt water) But after reading some stuff online . . . I am concerned that the lobsters sitting In a tank here in central Ohio might be lower quality meat (that enzyme starts to mush meat even tho it’s still “alive”) and it sounds like frozen lobster can be pretty damn good.  Thoughts / Suggestions ???  Thank you in advance !!!  
Columbus, OH

“There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as if everything is” 

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,166
    Since the text is a bit different with the same title:
    Paging @fishlessman.
    Hold tight as he generally doesn't surface til after the weekend.  
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • alaskanassasin
    alaskanassasin Posts: 7,597
    @CTMike offered to take me out for lobsta rolls so he might be able to offer some insight
    South of Columbus, Ohio.

• NDG
    edited June 2020
    Thanks - still very open to ideas but think I got the lobster meat source locked up.