Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Whole Chicken Cook

Hello,

I am a newbie with a LBGE. I just did my first pork butt cook last weekend and it turned out good. Just picked up a 5lb whole chicken to cook this weekend. I have a ceramic roaster to put in the bird as well. Any tips on prep, cook time and temperature. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Comments

• marcdc
    marcdc Posts: 126
    edited April 2020
    Im a fan of spatchcocking the chicken, throwing it on direct (no conveggtor/placesetter) and I use the eggspander to get it raised above the felt line. start it with skin side down for like 15-20min, flip it, and finish it skin side up. 

bonus points for putting veggies in a cast iron pan underneath the bird and letting them get basted with all the chicken fat dripping down
  • Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    I like to cook whole chickens indirect at around 400 degrees. I use an adjustable rig to raise the chicken up above the felt line.  This always gives me crispy skin.  I generally add some pecan or apple wood for smoke.

Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • StillH2OEgger
    StillH2OEgger Posts: 3,741
    Spatchcock is a great way to do bird, and you'll probably find as many who go indirect as raised direct. It's great either way, but don't go direct unless you have a way to get it higher in the dome. You're golden anywhere between 350-400 degrees, but I lean closer to the higher end of that range.
    Stillwater, MN
  • Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,794