Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Sous Vide Wings?

minniemoh
minniemoh Posts: 2,145
We got invited to the neighbors tonight for dinner, bball games, and beers. I had some frozen wings that I put in sous vide at 170 with about an hour and a half to spare before they need to go on the egg for crisping and sauce. I've never done this before. Are they going to have a decent texture if they get an 1:15 to 1:30 in the bath before going direct on the grid?

Advice appreciated.

L x2, M, S, Mini and a Blackstone 36. She says I have enough now....
eggAddict from MN!

Comments

• JohnInCarolina
    JohnInCarolina Posts: 30,867
    I don't think I've ever done them frozen and into the bath, so I can't say for sure.  But that's the temp I do them at.  I do mine for 2 hrs.  Texture is never a problem.  
    "I've made a note never to piss you two off." - Stike
  • minniemoh
    Just found out I have enough time for 2 hrs in the bath. Paper towel dry and on the grid. Was planning on going direct at 350-400 to crisp and sauce. Sound like that will work? @JohnInCarolina
    eggAddict from MN!
  • JohnInCarolina
    minniemoh said:
    Just found out I have enough time for 2 hrs in the bath. Paper towel dry and on the grid. Was planning on going direct at 350-400 to crisp and sauce. Sound like that will work? @JohnInCarolina
    Raised direct is the way to go after the bath.  You can flash cool them if you want them to pick up a bit more smoke or if you just want to guard against over cooking them.