Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Salmon!

Options
BGE_beginner_1
BGE_beginner_1 Posts: 23
edited October 2013 in EggHead Forum
This is my first attempt to smoke salmon on the BGE but it's one of my favorites. I'm cooking at 225 for as long as it takes to get to around 160 internal temperature with Apple wood chunks. I'm using a dry rub without a brine, hope it comes out good! Below is a pic, just in the grill. Does anyone have any suggestions on the best location for the internal grill temp thermometer, you should be able to see how I have it setup now in the pic below and it's in the middle of the grill above the drip pan and plate setter. Not sure if that's the best temp to measure?
Large BGE and new to the egghead world! 
Orlando FL.

Comments

• BGE_beginner_1
    BGE_beginner_1 Posts: 23
    edited October 2013
    Options
    Picture attached on the grill.....any advice on the location of the grill temp thermometer welcomed.
    More pics coming!!
    Orlando FL.
  • KennyLee
    KennyLee Posts: 806
    Options

Looks like the best place to measure to me.  Main thing is to run it over one of the legs of the plate setter which is what it looks like you've done. 

Let us know how it works out and how long you cooked it.  Salmon is the one thing I haven't yet cooked on my Egg that I love.  The rest of the family is not a fan, but want to try it soon. 

LBGE

Cedar table w/granite top

Ceramic Grillworks two-tier swing rack

Perpetual cooler of ice-cold beer

• BGE_beginner_1
    Options