Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Steak Without the Egg! Help

On vacation and all we got is a crappy gas grill. Lucky for me and the family I brought the cast iron skillet!
Think I'm going to cook the steaks in that. Sear on both sides and finish in the oven.
Anyone have any tips on oven temp? Or tips in general. I have never done steaks like this before.

Comments

• The Cen-Tex Smoker
    The Cen-Tex Smoker Posts: 22,951
    edited September 2013
    Do it inside. Best steak you will ever have. Heavy salt/pepper crust.............Preheat that cast iron in the oven on the highest setting for 15-20 min............ Take it out and place your steak in the CI and right back in the oven for 3 min. Flip and back in the oven for 3-4 min. Rest and eat. Google alton brown pan seared ribeye and do that. I much prefer this steak over wood grilled steaks. Even egg grilled steaks.
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • Get some butter and red wine and reduce in the CI pan with the steak juices while they rest for a killer pan sauce.
  • And make sure you open all the windows before you start :). It's smoky.
  • rtt121
    rtt121 Posts: 653
    Nice tips!
    Medium, and XL eggs in Galloway NJ.  Just outside of Atlantic City.  
  • http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/pan-seared-rib-eye-recipe/index.html Do this and you will think twice about Doing high end steaks on the egg again. I don't.
  • @The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Mouth is watering already! Thanks for the help. Keep y'all updated
  • Tjcoley
    Tjcoley Posts: 3,551