Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spatchcock Chicken, Raised Grid or Not?

Hi all. I am new to Egging and have two cooks under my belt (ribs & pulled pork), now I want to attempt spatchcock chicken.  I have read a lot of post on here and have found discussions regarding direct or indirect methods. It seems that all of the direct methods call for "raised grid" which I don't have setup, I'm sure I can set this up if necessary. Does anybody do this on the regular factory settings, grid on top of frie ring? I have an XLBGE. I really appreciate your help with this. 

BR

Comments

• double
    double Posts: 1,214
    Raise it up at 375. The flare ups at grate level will most likely burn your chicke .
    Lynnwood WA
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,168
    edited June 2013
    The simplest way to get an inexpensive raised grid setup is to get another grid (cheap weber always works), drink 3 beers and set those empty cans on the lower grid to get the elevation.  You can also place them direct on the fire ring and go with one grid but that has stability issues.  Some use 4-5" bolts and nuts with the second grid as well.  Try the search function and you may find additional info and pics.
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • caliking
    caliking Posts: 18,727