Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first brisket: a photoessay

I've been grilling with an LGE for about three years.  My wife generally likes food grilled but not necessarily smoked, so I've never invested the time to figure out a brisket.  With the Easter weekend coming up and some friends coming over, I decided to take the plunge.  

I opted for the Travis Method.  After consultation with the man himself (Travis via direct message), I decided to raise the 9.5# packer in a rib rack above the braising sauce and put it in the allegro about four hours in.  I use my own rub: equal parts kosher salt, white sugar, montreal seasoning and chili powder with garlic and onion powder too and the not-so-secret ingredient of celery salt to hopefully assist the presence of a smoke ring.

Before I started, I vacuumed out the box and added fresh lump.  I start it with a weed burner and this time added a few cubes.  It started a bit too well and I was delayed about thirty minutes trying to the the temp down to 300.  I added chunks of pecan and the plate setter at midnight.

imageI put it on fat side up with a chopped onion, a bottle of normal Allegro marinade and a precious bottle of Shiner Bock.

imageAt 4:00 am, I checked on the temp (holding nicely at 290, so I opened the lower vent a tad). I removed the rib rack and flipped it fat side down to get the meet under the cap flavored through immersion in the braising liquid and to get some bark on the top.  Since it was being braised I wasn't really concerned with it drying out.  This is what it looked like pre-flip.