Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cold smoke bacon questions

I did my first cold smoke bacon yesterday. Used the A-Maze-N 5x8 pellet smoker in the LBGE. Apple wood pellets for 10 hours, temp. never got above 75. They had good color, but I noticed a couple of things. I sliced and cook a piece right after I took them off the egg, good flavor, but a strong smoke taste. Do you let it sit covered in the fridge for a time to mellow out the smoke? Also, I handled the slabs bare handed and I've got stain on my hands that look like I've been smoking tobacco for 50 years and it's hard to get off. I quess I'll use food handling gloves next time. Is 10 hours to long?
Felton, Ca. 2-LBGE, 1-Small, PBC, PK360, Genesis Summit, Camp Chef Flattop, Smokefire 24, Traeger Pro Series 22 Pellet with a Smoke Daddy insert, Gateway 55 Gal. drum, SNS Kettle w/acc.

Comments

• nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    It will mellow out, but you can rinse off the outside before you slice it up to take some of the bitterness out and soften the smoke flavor.  The smoke penetrates into the meat - you won't be rinsing that off.
    If you sliced and cooked an end piece - it will not be representative of the majority of slices - it will be 10 times smokier.
    I did cook an end piece. Thanks for the answer.
    Felton, Ca. 2-LBGE, 1-Small, PBC, PK360, Genesis Summit, Camp Chef Flattop, Smokefire 24, Traeger Pro Series 22 Pellet with a Smoke Daddy insert, Gateway 55 Gal. drum, SNS Kettle w/acc.
  • nolaegghead