Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket Emergency - SOS!

Options
I have a 8 lb packer’s brisket that someone kindly cut the fat cap off of. 😱😬 How can I keep this slab o’ beefy goodness from getting as dry as shoe leather?

Comments

• loco_engr
    loco_engr Posts: 5,765
    Options
    I'm no expert, but injecting might help . . .
    aka marysvilleksegghead
    Lrg 2008
    mini 2009
    XL 2021 (sold 8/24/23)
    Henny Youngman:
    I said to my wife, 'Where do you want to go for our anniversary?' She said, 'I want to go somewhere I've never been before.' I said, 'Try the kitchen.'
    Bob Hope: When I wake up in the morning, I don’t feel anything until noon, and then it’s time for my nap
  • Ozzie_Isaac
    Ozzie_Isaac Posts: 19,107
    edited February 2022
    Options
    @lousubcap to the rescue, hopefully he is in still in leo and not escape velocity.
    They don’t want a population of citizens capable of critical thinking. They don’t want well informed, well educated people capable of critical thinking. They’re not interested in that. That doesn’t help them. That's against their interests. - George Carlin
  • Langner91
    Langner91 Posts: 2,120
    Options
    If it is truly a packer, and not just a flat, then it should be fine.  I trim the fat cap off mine, too.

If you are worried, then @loco_engr is correct, just inject that bad-boy and wrap for the finish.

Keep the temps low (<275° dome) and pull when tender.  Inject, and add some broth when wrapping in foil to keep it moist.  Worst case, you chop it and sauce the heck out of it!

Good luck!