Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Butt takes forever

Options
I am new to the BGE life, and have cooked a couple of pork shoulders since getting the egg. Most recently, I smoked a 3.1 lb pork shoulder at around 250 (300 towards the end). This cook took 10.5 hours, and I wrapped the butt in foil after about 8 hours. This is a 3.1 lb chunk of meat... Can anyone offer insights as to why this has been cooking so slow? I bought my platesetter (conveggtor) off of Amazon, so it is not manufactured by BGE. I also wrapped it in foil, with a drip pan with water sitting below the butt. It was hot (and assumingely humid), which I read on another post can affect the cook time. What the hell is going on with this? Other cooks have been taking longer than expected as well, but this is the most extreme instance of it taking forever. Thanks

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,776
    Options
    the water in your pan is keeping the temp around the butt closer to 212f degrees, dont put water in the pan.  its a long cook for a butt so go with one big enough for leftovers, 7 to 10 pounder. i typacally go overnight sleeping, get up early and fish til noon and then check on things
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,399
    Options
    Welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.  Above all, have fun.
    Dome thermo calibrated?  Beyond that, good suggestions above. FWIW-