Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I just got a new large egg -newbie

Options
Greeting to all, i am a newbie, I got my first big green egg - large. What should be my first cook? What accessories do you recommend I purchase next. I came from the Weber Family

Comments

• TEXASBGE2018
    TEXASBGE2018 Posts: 3,831
    edited April 2020
    Options
    Welcome. A steak at 550 degrees till medium rare

Rockwall, Tx    LBGE, Minimax, 22" Blackstone, Pizza Party Bollore. Cast Iron Hoarder.

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,375
    Options
    Welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.  Above all, have fun.
    Very prescient regarding first BGE.  
    I would give the search function here or Google with "big green egg" in the search field a work-out regarding first cook.  Your call on the cook.
    With accessories, play around with it before buying everything out there as you won't need nearly as much as you think.  If coming from Weber then you have the basic Q processes down.  Just a different way to get the outcome.  Quality instant read thermo and a means to cook indirect are about the initial minimum for me but others will be along. FWIW-
    This place can suck your wallet and CCs dry!  B)
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • QDude
    QDude Posts: 1,052
    Options