Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

pork back ribs taste gamey

Options
Hi all. First post. Been lurking for a while. Hope everybody had a great Memorial Day weekend.

This weekend I made pork back ribs for some guests. They were Swift Premium, individually cryo-vacced slabs, purchased from the local grocery store.  I did a 2-2-1 cook at 225 degrees over Royal Oak and hickory. 2 hours naked with a salt rub.  2 hours in foil with a little bbq sauce. 1 more hour out of the foil with a little more sauce.  I've used this method many times for ribs, but I usually buy St. Louis cut from Costco, so these particular ribs were new to me.

The result was visually typical and texture was spot-on, but the flavor of the meat was super "porky" or "gamey". The flavor was overpowering, and though my guests were gracious about it, it was pretty obvious by the amount of leftovers that nobody enjoyed it.

Any thoughts on what could have gone wrong? Did I just buy some bad ribs, or is there something in my cooking method that made the ribs taste off? 

Any thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• GrillSgt
    GrillSgt Posts: 2,507
    Options
    99.9% that it was bad ribs. I can't imagine anyway that a cook could add gaminess. HOWEVER I could imagine if you used chips or chunks that had been compromised somehow that you could get a nasty flavor.
  • Foghorn
    Foghorn Posts: 9,832
    Options