Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Gaskets

Options
I am a newbie with the Big Green Egg. I inherited a large one right after Christmas and it is in pretty sad shape.

So...it has no gaskets on it and I don't know how it was originally set up in that regard--this is the first Egg I have ever seen up close.

1. Did the cast iron vent cap (daisy wheel?) have a gasket between it and the neck of the dome? Do people who use these rigs ordinarily run a gasket there?
  2. Did the egg originally have two gaskets on the edge...one on the lip of the dome and one on the lip of the base?

I don't know the answers to these questions because there is little or no evidence to suggest one way or the other on my rig.  I am naturally looking to replace the gaskets and want the best seal and least amount of hassle/expense possible.

thoughts or advice appreciated...
Bespoke boot and shoemaker--45+ years
Instagram

Comments

• SemolinaPilchard
    Options
    I don't know of any eggs ever coming with a gasket on the the daisy wheel. Some people have put a gasket there. Not all eggs have a tight fit there, if you have a leak you may want to put one.