Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New KJ Firebox Design

Comments

• yljkt
    yljkt Posts: 799
    I trust high quality Mexican ceramics over risky Chinese ceramics for a cooking vessel. I hope they don't find lead in them like the toy scandal. 
    You and Whirly out having a few? 
  • VB_egger
    VB_egger Posts: 364
    Just saw this on guru. 
    VA Beach
  • VB_egger
    It appears that they know their current stand isn't a huge hit. 
    VA Beach
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    When in college, I worked in a lab and (among other things) tested imported Chinese bowls.  The ceramics aren't a problem, but some of the glaze was loaded with heavy metals, depending on the colors.  They were actually labeled as not food safe.

The inside of all ceramic cookers I know of is not glazed, the food does not touch the inside anyway, and most people don't cook on the outside of their kamado so I seriously doubt this is a real issue.
    There have been some major issues with flooring and drywall from China, however, as well as other products like toys.

European made products are probably the safest, if you want to use geographical manufacturing information solely as a guide to product safety.  The EU has much higher standards for food safety.  BPA, for example, is banned there.
    @nolaegghead, there's been a few nights out there stumbling around where I may have possibly tried that lol. 
    VA Beach
  • Hans61
    Hans61 Posts: 3,901
    Looks like a summit grilling center