Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chips or chunks

Options
GrillSgt
GrillSgt Posts: 2,507
I'm new to the egg. I have always used chips when grilling or smoking. Do you use chunks for the long smoke? Soaked first? Thanks

Comments

• Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    Options
    No need to soak. I use chunks since they last longer. Many people use chips and mix them throughout the charcoal.  Try whatever you can buy easily.

Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • Skiddymarker
    Skiddymarker Posts: 8,522
    Options
    No need to soak and chips are fine, mix them thru the lump as you fill the fire box. Restricted airflow in the egg limits flare ups to when you open the dome, otherwise the chips do their smokey magic. Suggest you use less than you do in a kettle or other smoker and don't look for large whiffs of smoke coming out the top. Good luck!
    Delta B.C. - Whiskey and steak, because no good story ever started with someone having a salad!
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,674
    Options
    as said: NO SOAK...... I use whatever i have handy. I only turbo so 5 hours is a long cook for me and not that often anyway. So both work just fine
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• bhedges1987
    bhedges1987 Posts: 3,201
    Options
    I do 4 chunks and about two handfuls of chips fora low and slow. Layer them both throughout the lump while I'm filling it. 

Kansas City, Missouri
    Large Egg
    Mini Egg