Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Where do you buy your accessories? Also - Are Raised Grates for More Cooking Space?

Options
Hi gang!  I'm new to the BGE and may be picking up my egg this weekend.  I'm thinking of buying a grill gripper, ash tool, platesetter, firestarters, and BGE lump charcoal.  Do you buy accessories from your local dealer or are you using an online service.  I'm specifically looking for info on quality of the BGE grill gripper and ash tool they carry in store.

I might also be interested in adding veggies and other items during the end of a long cooking session: is a raised grate used to accomplish this?   If so - what are the best current versions on the market?  

Thanks, everybody!  Have a great weekend!

Comments

• BizGreenEgg
    BizGreenEgg Posts: 301
    Options
    Pass on the plate setter and check out the products at the Ceramic Grill Store online.  An adjustable rig is going to give you infinitely more cooking options and space.  Also, BGE lump is just Royal Oak with a higher price tag.  I buy local when I can, but some things aren't available everywhere.
    Large BGE & mini stepchild & a KJ Jr.
    The damp PNW 
  • smokeyw
    smokeyw Posts: 367
    Options
    ^^^^^^ What he said!
  • gamason
    gamason Posts: 406
    Options
    Most dealers include those items with the purchase of a new egg. I would push for those items, unless your getting the egg at a lot lower price.

Snellville,Ga.

LBGE

Minimax

• Kurrgo
    Kurrgo Posts: 23
    Options
    gamason said: