Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First posting - questions on tailgate grill

Options
First of all let me say that I am new to the BGE experience. I have looked at them for years and for our 4th anniversary my wife surprised me with the XL. Now that I have it, I spend my extra time lurking on this forum while kicking back with a cold one while the egg does it's things.

So far we have cooked chicken grillers, a pork loin, two pork butts, multiple pizzas, pork shots, and jalapeño poppers.

My current dilemma revolves around football season. Now that it's here, anything I cook when we tailgate is pale in comparison for me. The egg ruined me. So to resolve the issue I have been searching out solutions. I want to be able to cook outside our RV for our family and friends (on a smaller scale as there's always tons of other food), but obviously the XL is far from portable.

I have spoken to my dealer about the mini and the elusive mini-max but have not pulled the trigger yet. I have also been watching craigslist for a used small. My current curiosity had me looking on EBay and Amazon, and I stumbled onto the 13" Kahuna grill for $169.00. Granted...my preference is to stay BGE, but the size and price are inviting, and I have a feeling I wouldn't be as upset should something happen to it at the tailgate.

Has anyone seen these? Thoughts?

Comments

• Wolfpack
    Wolfpack Posts: 3,551
    Options
    The other ones to check would be for a vision grill or the Komodo Joe Jr. Have heard positive things about both. Mini might be tough as it doesn't have a lot of space for apps, etc