Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My own BBQ Sauce

Onegrecook
Onegrecook Posts: 121
edited September 2012 in EggHead Forum
Ok...I've wanted to develop my very own sauce. One I could honestly say I developed...or at least didn't follow a recipe on. I'm no pro, but I came up with something that I think is pretty good. Here is my disclaimer "I didn't research every recipe out there, so if for some crazy reason there is a recipe that is similar, I apologize and it wasn't intentional". As far as I know, it's my own.

Here is the recipe. If anyone try's it, please tell me what you think...and be honest! I have thick skin and like the sauce, and really don't care if you don't like it. I would like to improve it if possible, and welcome all honest opinions.

Greg's BBQ sauce recipe...cool name!

This is my very own. I made it up without help from a recipe. I wanted to have one to truly call my own. 

Enjoy

24 oz bottle of Heinz ketchup 
1/2 cup white vinegar
3/4 cup honey 
1/2 cup molasses 
1/8 cup Frenchs mustard
1/2 tsp garlic powder 
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp cumin
1-1/2 Tbsp of paprika
1/2 tsp fresh cracked black pepper
1/2 tsp fennel seed
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cayenne
1 tsp chili powder

Do NOT simmer...just warm in a sauce pan and chill in the fridge overnight. If you simmer it, it will become thicker than I prefer. The flavor gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. Hope you like it...I do:)

I used it on ribs with Alton Brown rub and liked it a lot.

Comments

• @Onegrecook I like to "build" my own stuff too, will give this a try.