Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How to lower Egg temp a lot!

Options
Hi guys
Last time I posted I was a newbie looking for help. Now I just make mistakes and try to fix them on my own. Question. I lit my egg and went off with the dog thinking I would time the vent closing etc ok. Wrong. I cam back to a 600 degree egg when I wanted 250. Stop laughing. How would you lower this beast? I shut it all down and left the lid open until it wasn't climbing to 400 immediately. At 300 I put my pork butt and wood chunks on and we are now cruising at 290 which I will accept. Lower vent and daisy are open to the smallest crack. Hoping the temp will drop a bit more. Thanks for any input.

Comments

• ColtsFan
    ColtsFan Posts: 6,345
    edited May 2023
    Options
    There is a lot of thermal mass in the egg and no quick way to bring it down. Shutting it down and waiting is about all you can do. Adding additional mass, i.e. protein, to absorb some heat will help too. If it didn’t sit there for too long that hot it should come down somewhat quickly. 
    ~ John - https://www.instagram.com/hoosier_egger
    XL BGE, LG BGE, KJ Jr, PK Original, Ardore Pizza Oven, King Disc 
    Bloomington, IN - Hoo Hoo Hoo Hoosiers!

• EzraBrooks
    EzraBrooks Posts: 381
    Options
    290 is great for a butt so I'd just let it ride and relax. I know folks do 250 and below sometimes but I can't tell a difference. If you're worried about it being dry, foil at 165ish and dump the captured juice back into the meat when you pull it. good luck!
  • BSR
    BSR Posts: 165
    Options