Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

1st BGE

Options
Just got my 1st BGE. I got an XL. I've been using a Weber for the last 10 years. I'm still trying to figure out temperature control. Im sure that will come with practice. 
 I've used it several times. My longest cook so far was a Pork butt. Came out good!
I'm enjoying the forum. Lots of good ideas!

Comments

• The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Options
     Welcome! You’ll get the temp control thing down with a little more experience. It’s pretty intuitive once you get into it. 
    Keepin' It Weird in The ATX FBTX
  • WeberWho
    WeberWho Posts: 11,026
    Options
    Welcome! You'll get it. Keep cooking and it will become second nature. 
    "The pig is an amazing animal. You feed a pig an apple and it makes bacon. Let's see Michael Phelps do that" - Jim Gaffigan

Minnesota
  • Grogu
    Grogu Posts: 125
    Options

I’m still a complete rookie myself. I also became a first time egger this year with an XL. This graphic isn’t 100% perfect, but I found it helped me get at least within spitting distance rather than completely guessing at where to set things. You’re going to love it. I’m currently planning an all egg thanksgiving dinner.
  • ksmyrl
    ksmyrl Posts: 1,050
    Options
    Welcome to the cult. I mean club..
    Or something like that. You'll get the temp thing in no time. I cook top less for nearly everything but low and slow and just use the bottom vent for control. But I'm weird. 
    Fish, Hunt, Cook....anything else?

1LBGE, 1MMBGE, somewhere near Athens GA
  • The Cen-Tex Smoker
    Options
    Grogu said: