Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

One Pastrami Coming Right Up!!!

Options
I make pastrami every couple of months.  I always use a corned beef and SV @147 for 30-36 hrs then smoke on the KBQ for a few hours at the end. I decided I wanted to make a product with more moisture so I lowered the SV temp @135 for 43 hrs.  Result was a moist, perfectly smoked chewy product so I dropped it back in the tank last night for another 5 hours.  I put it in an ice bath last night and placed it in the fridge.  Have to work today so I will report results tonight.  I have lots of SV experience and I was really surprised by the outcome. Every cow is different.  

Southeast Louisiana
3 Larges, Rockin W Smokers Gravity Fed Unit, KBQ, Shirley Fabrication 24 x 36, Teppanyaki Stainless Griddle 

Comments

• lkapigian
    lkapigian Posts: 10,760
    Options
    Nice @Money_Hillbilly ....still on my bucket list is @The Cen-Tex Smoker Holy Grail Pastrami 
    Visalia, Ca @lkapigian
  • paqman
    paqman Posts: 4,670
    Options
    Smoke first and finish sous-vide maybe?

I almost always cook my corned beef/pastrami in the Instant Pot and get perfect results.

@paqman I have tried multiple methods including smoke then pressure cooker or steaming.  SV has produced the best product so far. I just wanted to experiment with creating a juicer product.  I will get it dialed in. 
    Southeast Louisiana
    3 Larges, Rockin W Smokers Gravity Fed Unit, KBQ, Shirley Fabrication 24 x 36, Teppanyaki Stainless Griddle 
  • GrateEggspectations
    Options
    paqman said: