Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

STEAK: how I do it

NDG
NDG Posts: 2,431
Wife BDAY so SRF ribeye fillets - sooo damn good.  I am no expert, but I always reference my notes below when I do steak, figured I would share.

1) Egg @ 250F w/ cast iron griddle on factory level grate 
2) Insert grid extender (directly over cast iron griddle) 
3) Season Steak w/ evoo S&P - place steak on top of grid extender (so griddle below blocks direct flame AKA indirect) place some aluminum foil on griddle to catch any drips
4) Remove steak once internal temp is between 115 -120F . . . tent
5) Remove raised grid, open egg 100% until dome temp reads around 600F 
6) Pat meat dry - sear on hot cast iron griddle for 60 - 90 secs per side, check the internal temp. FINAL PULL  I hope to be 5-8 degrees below my target temp. 
*optional - if CI little lower temp - add ghee/clarified butter and fresh herbs . . baste during sear

BASTE OR BOARD SAUCE!  herbs/butter . .  APL has many

Columbus, OH

“There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as if everything is” 

Comments

• StillH2OEgger
    StillH2OEgger Posts: 3,745
    Looks great -- and dong free, to boot!
    Stillwater, MN
  • NDG
    damn, I should have slid in a dong or two. 
    Columbus, OH

“There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle.  The other is as if everything is” 
  • StillH2OEgger
    StillH2OEgger Posts: 3,745
    I think most prefer this meat, I mean beef, well you know what I mean.
    Stillwater, MN
  • NDG