Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT: An Egghead Goes Camping

Options
dmourati
dmourati Posts: 1,268
Like most of us, my family and I have been sheltering in place for the past several months. While we love our home, we are looking for a way to spread our wings a little bit and enjoy a change of scenery. California opened up several state parks last week for camping and we were able to pounce and grab a campsite for two nights. It will be two adults and one four year old on our first family camping trip.

Question:

When it comes to cooking at a campsite, what are the best ideas this group has to offer? I can see two alternatives (bringing the Egg itself is out, as I have a Large).

1. Cook over the camp fire. This is how I did it as a cub/boy scout though it has been some time.
2. Get a camp stove powered by propane. Coleman, Blackstone, etc
3. Some combination of 1/2 above.'

Any thoughts will help me plan.

Thanks!
Mountain View, CA

Comments

• EggNorth
    EggNorth Posts: 1,535
    Options
    #1 , but bring your own cooking grid.
    Dave
    Cambridge, Ontario - Canada
    Large (2010), Mini Max (2015), Large garden pot (2018)
  • Matt86m
    Matt86m Posts: 471
    Options
    If you plan to cook over the camp fire be sure a camp fire is allowed. Some may be in a no burn zone/no open fires.

A lot of camp sites have a permanent grill for use with charcoal. 

Gas bbq is probably your best bet.