Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

how to keep smoke out of your cook

Options
I am relatively new to cooking with the egg. If i don't use flavored wood chunks in the grill i don't want a smoky taste.  How do you achieve the heat without the smoky taste? Is it in the method used to light the fire? Is it when you place the food on the grill? Any help or advice would be appreciated

Comments

• dmourati
    dmourati Posts: 1,268
    Options
    Try cooking at a higher temperature for shorter durations. I'd also advise to make sure your fire is burning clean before putting any food on. On a new bunch of lump charcoal, this can take as long as an hour from when you light it.
    Mountain View, CA
  • GrateEggspectations
    Options
    Two things:
    i) use a neutral (non-smokey) lump - e.g., Rockwood, Basques Sugar Maple, Maple Leaf, etc.; and
    ii) ensure the acrid white smoke clears before you begin cooking. 

Many of us have baked bread or even desserts that are non-smokey. Using the above advice, you should be able to replicate oven results pretty closely while using the Egg. 

Good luck. 
  • alaskanassasin
    Options
    Rockwood
    South of Columbus, Ohio.

• dmourati
    dmourati Posts: 1,268
    Options
    Silly me, I forgot not everyone uses Rockwood. 
    Mountain View, CA
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    Once the initial smoke from light calms down wave your hand over the exhaust and then smell your hand. Good clean smell time to add food, dirty campfire smell wait another ten mins or so.