Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New BGE built-in. Do I need a nest?

Options
AZEggDude
AZEggDude Posts: 8
edited December 2019 in EGG Table Forum
Hi all, newbie here!  My backyard project is wrapping up and I'm anxiously awaiting my XL delivery today!  Here is the spot where it will live.  Do I need a nest for an air gap?  It's going on a slab of granite under a cinder block base.  Thanks in advance!

Comments

• MO_Eggin
    MO_Eggin Posts: 282
    Options
    I would.
    LBGE - St. Louis, MO; MM & LBGE - around 8100' somewhere in the CO Front Range
  • buzd504
    buzd504 Posts: 3,824
    Options
    I say yes.
    NOLA
  • AZEggDude
    Options
    Do you guys say yes to protect the granite underneath?
  • HeavyG
    HeavyG Posts: 10,346
    Options
    AZEggDude said:
    Hi all, newbie here!  My backyard project is wrapping up and I'm anxiously awaiting my XL delivery today!  Here is the spot where it will live.  Do I need a nest for an air gap?  It's going on a slab of granite under a cinder block base.  Thanks in advance!

What does that door open into?
    If it is storing anything that might be heat sensitive I'd get a nest. Otherwise I'd probably just set it on the granite, BUT, using a nest does also make it a bit easier/cleaner to scrape out the ashes into a pan.
    “Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.” ― Philip K. Diçk

• unoriginalusername
    Options