Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Turkey Smoke

Going to try a spatchcock turkey this year because my MIL turkey is way to dry. I’m going to try Malcolm Reed’s recipe but was wondering if I should use pecan wood? Malcolm uses pecan pellets when he did his YouTube video. I’m not that experienced with smoking so I don’t want to go over board and overpower the turkey. If so should I use chips or chunks? If not pecan any other wood you might suggest? 

Comments

• Pecan or fruit.  A little goes a long way on poultry 
  • I like apple..
    Charlotte, NC - Large BGE 2014, Maverick ET 733, Thermopen, Nest, Platesetter, Woo2 and Extender w/Grid, Kick Ash Basket, Pizza Stone, SS Smokeware Cap, Blackstone 36"
  • northGAcock
    northGAcock Posts: 15,164
    Maple 🍁 is good.
    Ellijay GA with a Medium & MiniMax

Well, I married me a wife, she's been trouble all my life,
    Run me out in the cold rain and snow
  • Cherry is relatively mild, but tastes great and adds wonderful color to the bird.
    Stillwater, MN
  • 55Kevy
    55Kevy Posts: 234
    +1 for cherry.

Kevin

Beautiful Santa Ynez Valley, CA
    XL BGE, Woo2, AR

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,168
    +2 for cherry.  Nails the mahogany color every time. 
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • littlerascal56
    littlerascal56 Posts: 2,104
    edited November 2018
    Cherry gives this color.  Pecan will be lighter in color
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    One handful mixed cherry-pecan