Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

BGE Beginner here looking for some sage advice

Hey Guys - So I am officially a proud owner of a Medium BGE. I live in Manhattan and just moved to an apartment with my own porch so naturally I had to get an egg. Living in a small NYC apt kinda limits me for some things (ie the reason I got a Medium), but also there aren't a lot of hardware stores around that sell grilling/bbq supplies. So I am feel like I am really limited to ordering a lot of stuff online. Anyway I have been poking around here for a few days and have come up with a list of questions. If anyone can point me in the direction on any of these I would greatly appreciate it!

1. Any way to buy BGE charcoal online? Or other recommended brand charcoals to buy online.
  2. I bought a thermopop for instant read. Should I just suck it up and buy a temp probe now? It seems like its a inevitable purchase
  3. General lighting/starting tips? I have a small pack of the BGE starters but didnt know if there was a more efficient technique that to continue to buy those packs. 
  4. Do I need a cover? The guy at ace seemed to think I didn’t. Will snow/rain take a toll on the egg? I'm more worried about the snow. 
  5. Any recommendations for cleaning tools? Would a normal grill brush do the trick for the grate? 
  6. Does anyone have recommendations for removing the placesetter? Should I just buy a tool that does it? Or are there other/easier ways to do it. Do gloves really work? 
  7. Do I need a woo or some sort of extender? It seems like everyone on here mentions cooking raised.