Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Sticky tamarind baby back ribs, Walt Whitman, end of an era

Stormbringer
Stormbringer Posts: 2,007
edited May 2018 in EggHead Forum
I've been working for a company for nearly 18 years. The team I am a part of have worked together for over 10 years and we've all gotten to know each other as colleagues and friends.

So it came as a blow, and indeed end of an era, when we found out that we are all being made redundant. Some have already gone (including me), others are still left, slowly treading towards their inevitable fate. Walking into the office for my last day was like entering a backwater town in the Midwest, it just needed tumbleweeds for true authenticity. We were the living embodiment of the questions posed by Walt Whitman in his classic poem "Oh Me! Oh Life!".

To counteract the inevitable emotions that such an event can bring, and lift spirits, my wife and I hosted a BBQ lunch, cooking some classic BGE recipes. These included OTT chili and smokey bourbon baked beans along with some smash burgers.

There was also a new dish, sticky tamarind baby back ribs, recipe below:

https://www.thecooksdigest.co.uk/2018/05/11/sticky-tamarind-baby-back-ribs/

The team thoroughly enjoyed the day. It was uplifting to see my friends smiling again. Spirits raised, everyone left happy. It made me think of Whitman again, and the answer to his own question ... contributing a verse to the powerful play. It doesn't have to be a major event, just something positive that makes people smile again.

Plated and ready to eat:

Cooking in the large: