Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Over done baby back ribs

Options
bwanadon
bwanadon Posts: 6
I am a relative newbie with my large BGE. Have done St Louis style ribs twice and they were excellent. Cooked them indirect at 300 for 4 hours (no foil wrap). Yesterday I did the baby backs the same way and they were over done. My first fail on the egg! Suggestions welcome!

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,385
    Options
    Welcome aboard and enjoy the journey.  Above all, have fun.
    @Theophan has the right approach above. Related, BB ribs will generally cook faster than St Louis spares at the same temp which is what you experienced.  FWIW-
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,767
    Options
    spares are better, just cook spares
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • abtaylor260
    abtaylor260 Posts: 242
    Options
    Yeh I have overcooked a few racks along the way, especially baby backs. Basically on slow cooked pork or beef I use a toothpick now, and the bend test. After a few cooks you will get a good feel for what you are looking for. The downside is you have to check them more often.
  • bwanadon
    bwanadon Posts: 6
    Options
    Thank you all for the feedback. I think the toothpick and bend test will be my go to now. Love my egg.
  • abtaylor260
    abtaylor260 Posts: 242
    Options