Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork butts! What temp do you cook at? What temp do you pull at?

Options
TheToast
TheToast Posts: 376
I'm setting up a cook tomorrow afternoon, for lunch the following day. I'll probably go for 110c / 230f on my Smobot, and the past two times I've cooked them I've pulled at 90c / 195f, but I find the butts are sometimes a little dry on the outer layers, so I'm never sure. But then I've never used a smobot overnight before, when usually the temp will flucuate

Comments

• six_egg
    six_egg Posts: 1,110
    Options
    I do mine at whatever Temp I need to have it done by a target time. I do leave a couple hour wiggle room. I normally do mine at 250 F. I cook until 165 F int temp then add more rub about 1/4 cup or so wrap twice in heavy duty foil. I then go to 205 F. I wrap in a towel and cooler for 1 hour. I like my pork butts to fall apart with little effort. This also makes a lot of juice which I just mix in while pulling. 

XLBGE, LBGE 

Fernandina Beach, FL

• Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Options
    I used to cook mine at 250°, took about 1.5-2hrs per lb. Overnight pretty much required. Now, I cook at 320°, start at 9-10 AM and finish by dinner time. No need for a temp controller that way either. I don't pay attention to the finish temp, I just leave it on til the probe meets no resistance. It's probably 200-205°, but I really haven't looked in years.

The only reason I would ever FTC a butt is if it finishes well before I'm planning to eat. Usually, I take it off the egg, pull and eat.