Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Boneless Prime Rib Advise Needed

Options
I am a novice Egghead.  However, my BGE is making me slowly famous - Max Max Turkey at Thanksgiving was a huge hit!

Now I have a 12 lb boneless prime rib sitting in the basement fridge that is sitting uncovered with towels below and on top.

My plan:

1. 12 lb boneless prime rib
  2. Large BGE set to 250 - 275  degrees
  3. Salt & coarse pepper then mustard
  4. McCormick Montreal Steak rub generously applied
  5. Cook Indirect via placesetter
  6. Setup is to use the same rectangle roasting pan and V rack I used for Thanksgiving turkey (I already checked for fit)
  7. Plan is 20 minutes per lb - so maybe about 240 minutes
  8. Pull at 112 to 115 degrees
  9. Let rest for 20 minutes or so until while I pull out the placesetter and ramp up the BGE to 500 - 550
  10. Sear for 3 or 4 minutes per side
  11. Pull when internal is 125 degrees - checked with instant thermometer and my new Meater blue tooth thermometer (1st time being used)

I am not super confident about my plan so I am looking for ideas that are solidly tested!!

Comments

• YukonRon
    YukonRon Posts: 16,989
    Options
    Low and slow, smoke with pecan, I use an olive oil aerosol for the base, and use the rub of your choice (I use Cow Dust which is the key for me).
    I go to about 125F IT, then reverse the sear, shorter times. Pull at your desired IT and let it rest for about 20-30 mins, loosely foiled or BP'd.