Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Those having made hot sauce before, a little help.

northGAcock
northGAcock Posts: 15,164
edited August 2017 in EggHead Forum
Planted some cayenne peppers back in Early April. I have been harvesting peppers for several months, storing them in the freezer. Time is drawing close to making sauce. I have ordered my bottles.... and doing some research.

A couple of questions for those with more experience than I.

• I no that the sauce can sometimes turn out ticker than desired. Some thin with water, some add vinegar. Any thoughts on this or alternative thinners?
  • The basic ingredients are peppers, garlic and vinegar. What other ingratiates have you used for flavor. I have used onion....but beyond that, any other flavors bringing you joy?
  • I see a (cook / emulsion / simmer) approach, and a (cook /ferment) approach. What has been your experience with these two approaches...recommendations?

I appreciate the help in advance....would welcome any additional learning(s) and recommendations. 
Ellijay GA with a Medium & MiniMax

Well, I married me a wife, she's been trouble all my life,
Run me out in the cold rain and snow

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,167
    No recipe help here but if you find you have non-sauce leftover peppers, smoke 'em down until they are ready to be ground into dry powder and you will justly rewarded.  I run this drill in late Oct with habaneros and a few hotter (provided) varieties.  It is quite a protracted effort.  Let me know if you get to that point.