Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket advice

Options
Hello, I am new to the big green egg world and one of my first meal attempts was a brisket flat. I put the brisket on the egg at 225° witch hickory wood chips and smoked until the internal temp was about 165° ( about 6 hours ), then wrapped it up in tinfoil and put about an inch of coffee in the tinfoil and cooked until an internal temp of 200°. I was very excited and it looked amazing but turned out to be very tough. I am just looking for any advice for my next attempt, thank you!

Comments

• Hans61
    Hans61 Posts: 3,901
    Options
    Tooth pic test some brisket aren't done until 205 
    “There are three rules that I live by: never get less than twelve hours sleep; never play cards with a guy who has the same first name as a city; and never get involved with a woman with a tattoo of a dagger on her body.”
    Coach Finstock Teen Wolf
  • bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    Options
    Flat's are hard to nail.  I'll attach a thread full of good information and then some.  And welcome.

http://eggheadforum.com/discussion/1194980/memorial-day-weekend-brisket-cook-whos-with-me-rules-are-simple/p1
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,385
    Options
    As above, brisket finish-line is all about the feel in the thick part of the flat,  'looking for the "probes like buttah" outcome.  Sounds like you pulled early.  No worries-I have hosed up way more than my share of flats.  But every hunk of protein is different so give it another shot.