Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Gasket at top of Dome

Hello,

I am new to the world of BGE.  I have been a Weber person my whole life.  My lovely bride of 31 years got a bonus from work on Friday,a large Big Green Egg with all the fixings!   So, we are now exploring the BGE World!  So far, the biggest challenge has been the assembly directions. I wish there were more descriptions and less illustrations.

Here is my question.......on the dome/lid there is a gasket that wraps around the top vent.  After using the egg, the daisy wheel/ metal cap became attached to this gasket.  After cooking a pork tenderloin, this evening I tried to remove the cap and it was still stuck.  I ended up getting the cap off,but , the gasket stayed attached to the inside of the daisy wheel.  Did I do something wrong?  Thankfully, there is another gasket in the box.  

Any suggestions??

PS-In case anyone is wondering.....My Weber Smokey Mountain Bullet is going on Craigslist.  My 10 year old Weber Performer is staying!  Thankfully, they are both green and match perfectly. Plus, it was,a Christmas present from my wife so she can't protest!

Comments

• dldawes1
    dldawes1 Posts: 2,208
    Sometimes the gasket sticks to the daisy wheel, sometimes it sticks to the egg.  I do not use a gasket, the grease has formed a tight seal. 

For me, it would not make a difference where I left it. One reason I might want it on the egg is to form a tight seal when I put the ceramic top back on to shut down the fire. 

Someone else may see it differently.