Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What stain/seal should I use?

Options
So my Big Green Egg table is done. It is made of all pressure treated wood, including the table top.

I would like to stain the table and seal it, to both protect it from the elements and also to make it easy/sanitary to clean off.

Any help on what specific type of stain/seal I should buy?  Or what to stay away from? I'm new to all this, and I've seen people refer to oil-based and water-based, but don't know the pros or cons of either.

Thanks in advance for y'alls help!!!

Comments

• DieselkW
    DieselkW Posts: 894
    edited April 2016
    Options
    According to the folks at http://www.cuprinol.com/, you should wait at least one to two months before staining new Pressure Treated wood.

You may want to apply a clear preservative immediately, but it must be a product manufactured for use on fresh pressure-treated lumber.  One such product is from Rustoleum.

Indianapolis, IN

BBQ is a celebration of culture in America. It is the closest thing we have to the wines and cheeses of Europe. 

Drive a few hundred miles in any direction, and the experience changes dramatically. 

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options